Day Twenty-Two: Until the Very End

Until the Very End

I happened to be looking at you when you turned and caught my eye,
but my head turned sharply away.
We were strangers then–
definitely not best friends.

I watched you for a while before I tried to speak,
but you were better at starting small-talk than I.
We were just acquaintances then–
definitely not best friends.

But then, I think we clicked somehow,
because now I can’t imagine life without you.
All the sleepovers, deep conversations, but goofy jokes too;
when I’m with you, we both belong in a zoo.

There was a time when we were strangers,
a time when we knew each other a bit.

But now I know we will always be best friends–
even until the very end.

 

Author: Misty

Why hello there. :) I'm Misty, a Christian writer, photographer, and violinist. The most likely places to find me are at the beach or the library, or maybe curled up somewhere clacking away at an old typewriter.

Leave Some Feedback

