Sunkissed

Sunkissed

rocky seas
an ocean breeze
do not stay away

sea salt sprays
it mixes with your tears
why did you come here?

listen to the waves
why don’t you explore a cave?
touch the sun’s gentle rays

don’t be afraid to smile
please, stay awhile
stand here and stay all day

watch as the great Artist paints
the sky is His canvas
He paints for you, my dear

lift your face to the sky
please, don’t pass this by
breathe in the moment

appreciate the little things people miss
and please, please remember this:
little things matter the most sometimes

don’t be afraid to get sunkissed

 

Author: Misty

Why hello there. :) I'm Misty, a Christian writer, photographer, and violinist. The most likely places to find me are at the beach or the library, or maybe curled up somewhere clacking away at an old typewriter.

21 thoughts on “Sunkissed”

      1. Sure! For me, it works best to picture the scene in my head. Instead of saying, “he was frightened,” picture what he looks like when he’s frightened. Then break that down and describe it. Maybe he’s trembling…maybe his mouth is agape…maybe he’s backing away slowly. Instead of saying, “she is happy,” picture her bright eyes, her dimples, her smile. Then describe it. And you really don’t need a long, drawn out description. Keep it simple, but simple enough that the reader has the same image in their head that you have in yours. The more you do it, the more natural and easy it becomes to you.
        Hope that helps. šŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you so much, Misty! That helps a ton! šŸ˜€ I’m really struggling with describing the soldiers in Shadowland. The government is paranoid and they have soldiers that patrol the streets, keeping watch for anyone exiting their homes. They kinda look like stormtroopers from Star Wars, but I struggle with describing them. I will definitely try out your technique.
        Thank you so much!
        ~Grace ā¤

        Liked by 2 people

      3. I also want to thank you so much for the feedback you gave me on Shadowland! As I’ve gotten deeper into it I’ve really started to gain a lot of confidence with it. šŸ™‚ I really appreciate all the time you take to answer questions, give advice, etc. ā¤

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Aw I loved this! You know, Leah emailed me recently about opening the Poetry workshop again. In the next few weeks, maybe we should do that! Would you be up for participating again? (It can be whenever you are available).
    The only thing: were you intentional with the inconsistent rhyming pattern? Like the first stanza was AAB, then CDD, and then back and forth and then one stanza doesn’t rhyme at all. Just curious with your poetry process for this one šŸ™‚ I know lots of people say “be consistent with your rhyming” but I still appreciated the content of this poem! Well done Misty šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, friend! Ohhh, we definitely should. I’m all up for it it!
      No, I wasn’t intentional on any specific rhyming pattern…thank you for noting that though. Maybe if we do the workshop, I can use this poem and y’all can help me make the whole thing a pattern. That’s a weak spot for me in poetry. Thanks again!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave Some Feedback

