Winter Daydream

i am sitting by the fire with my back against the wall
and the ice in my hair is beginning to thaw

the cocoa is hot against my lips;
watching it swirl, i am careful not to tip

the mug in my hands, my quite pale hands,
and with the sweater drawn to my fingers my breath expands

in a small cloud, for a brief instant,
and before it dissipates, i am consistent

to sip my drink and close my eyes
whilst listening to the fire’s snapping cries

i’ll stay awake for now to deem
this whimsical moment a winter daydream

Author: Misty

Why hello there. :) I'm Misty, a Christian writer, photographer, and violinist. The most likely places to find me are at the beach or the library, or maybe curled up somewhere clacking away at an old typewriter.

18 thoughts on “Winter Daydream”

Leave Some Feedback

